Good Food.

May 2, 2011 § 3 Comments

With the semester coming to a close, the past few weeks have been filled with the wrapping up of class projects and getting ready for finals. But one of the luxuries of being a PR major is that we rarely ever have final exams. I finished with two of my classes this past Thursday, and now, I have nothing but an easy peasy fashion merchandising exam on Friday.

But the best news about being done with classes is that it gives me more time to go out to eat!

This post isn’t particularly about burgers, just because I haven’t had a chance to go get one in a few days, but more about celebration of food in Athens, and the events that bring it to you.

This past weekend was full of all kinds of events and happenings, as it was the weekend of the Twilight festival. And on Saturday, my friend Hannah and I went to the 1st Annual Good Food Block Party, hosted by Farm 255 and several other restaurants to benefit the Athens Farmer’s Market.

If you’ve read any of my previous posts, you know I’m gaga over Farm 255, and when I saw that they were hosting this party, along with 5 & 10, The National, and Last Resort, I knew I had to be there.

Hannah and I arrived to Farm at 2:30, where the block party was fully underway. Music was playing and people were eating some seriously delicious looking food. The block party had a ticket system, where a $1 got you a ticket, which you could then put towards any dish you wanted. Here are a few of the delicious things Hannah and I got with our tickets:

Fresh produce for Last Resort's green salad.

Last Resort had a fresh green salad mixed with fresh produce from local gardens. Tossed together with a tangy dressing and some grilled bread, it was a cool, healthy start to the meal.

I used 6 of my tickets to get one of Farm’s homemade pork sausages, which they had grilling over a hot charcoal fire right in the middle of the patio.

Grilled housemade sausages.

Once they handed me my sausage on a toasted bun, I topped it with homemade cole slaw and sauerkraut. One of the best sausages I’ve ever had, with that similar grassy flavor that I admire so much in the rest of Farm’s meat dishes.

Not quite a burger, but close!

One of the most exciting parts of the event was seeing a shout out to my hometown of Asheville, North Carolina, represented in one of the dishes.  One of the vendors was selling crostini, and one of them featured a goat cheese produced by Spinning Spider Creamery, which is located just outside of Asheville. Topped with a golden raisin and leek chutney, it was full of vibrant flavor and reminded me of the time I visited Spinning Spider and tasted their goat cheese right there on the farm.

Look! Cheese from Asheville!

Hannah and I had a wonderful time at the party, and even had the chance to sit at the same table as the mayor of Athens. What I loved most about this party was the welcoming environment. The vendors were extremely friendly, and we made a number of friends just by walking around and eating our food.

And I think this is what I love most about events like this. People come together over shared experiences with food, and I think that’s one of the things that’s most valuable and special about life. A great meal can make new friendships, strengthen old ones, and give you experiences that you’ll never forget.

And speaking of experiences that you’ll never forget, I have some exciting news for you as my readers: this blog is about to head into some new and exciting territory. But I won’t tell you what it is yet, I’d rather build the suspense. But don’t worry. Just because the semester’s over doesn’t mean Bun Voyage has ended its journey.

It’s just going in a new direction.

§ 3 Responses to Good Food.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Good Food. at Bun voyage.

meta

